first come, first serve: whet the appetite

“Tell me what you eat, and I will tell you what you are”
Anthelme Brillat-Savarin

There are many things to experience when you travel, and foremost amongst them is, of course, food.  With so many countries boasting so many intriguing, delicious, unsual, sometimes downright disgusting, dishes, even with the ubiquitous golden arches appearing all over, foreign cuisine offers one of the best bits of getting to know a country. This is my tribute to all those foods that we bravely try, sometimes with a grimace and gritted teeth and sometimes with a smile and licked lips, as we travel! As a Bengali vegetarian (I eat fish, but no meat) I do often wander how much I am missing out on by not wishing to try traditional meat-based dishes. However, that said, a degree of flexibility is necessary when travelling, particularly if eating with host families, so whilst I will (and do) try my best not to eat meat, I have to accept that this often means just picking it out or eating around it. It would be all but impossible, and at times offensive, to make a fuss and demand total guarantee that what I’m eating has never seen meat.

Leave a Reply

